BT Sport unveils shortlist for the 2016 BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Award


BT Sport has today announced the nominees for its annual Action Woman of the Year Award.

This year also sees BT Sport announce two additional categories including the Team of The Year and Lifetime Achievement awards

BT Sport has today announced the nominees for its annual Action Woman of the Year Award. The Award, now in its fourth year, celebrates the ten most exceptional sporting performances by British female athletes throughout 2016.

A shortlist of nominees has been selected based on their sporting achievements in 2016. The winner of the Action Woman of the Year Award will be decided by a public vote.Voting can made via BTSport.com/ActionWoman2016 and via Twitter and Facebook using the designated #AW16 hashtags for each athlete.

Action Woman of the Year nominees:

Nicola Adams - #AW16Adams

Became first woman to successfully defend an Olympic boxing title in Rio

Rachel Atherton - #AW16Atherton

World Downhill Cycling Champion and unbeaten World Cup series winner

Hannah Cockroft - #AW16Cockroft

Won three Paralympic golds from three wheelchair track events in Rio

Kadeena Cox#AW16Cox

First British Paralympian in 32 years to win gold medals in two different sports at the same Games

Charlotte Dujardin#AW16Dujardin

Gold with Valegro in Rio confirmed her as Britain’s most successful Olympic dressage rider

Maddie Hinch#AW16Hinch

Gold medal-winning GB hockey goalkeeper saving four penalties in Olympic final

Jade Jones#AW16Jones

Successfully defended her Olympic taekwondo gold medal in the 57kg class

Laura Kenny - #AW16Kenny

Became Britain’s most successful female Olympian of all time in Rio with two gold medals in the track cycling.

Johanna Konta - #AW16Konta

First British woman to reach the world tennis top 10 since 1984

Dame Sarah Storey - #AW16Storey

Three more golds in Rio saw her become Britain’s most successful ever female Paralympian

BT Sport will also present two new awards that will further celebrate women’s sport; Team of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award decided by a panel of industry experts and athletes.

The Team of the Year nominees:

GB Olympic Hockey

Olympic gold medalists

Manchester City

Domestic double with Women’s Super League and Cup titles

GB Olympic Team Pursuit (Cycling)

2016 Olympic gold medalists

GB Paralympic Dressage (Equestrian)

2016 Olympic gold champions

Heather Stanning and Helen Glover (Rowing)

2016 women’s pairs champions

The winners will be announced at The Action Woman of the Year Awards Show, presented by Clare Balding on BT Sport on Monday 12 December2016.

Simon Green, Head of BT Sport, said: “It has been another phenomenal year in women’s sport. We are proud to celebrate and recognise the efforts of these incredible women and what they have achieved. We want everyone to get voting for their favourite inspirational sportswoman of 2016.”

To vote for your action woman of the year visit BTSport.com/ActionWoman2016.